The US Lottery market is bursting with State-run enterprises. In fact there are altogether 44 jurisdictions running lotteries, 43 States and the District of Columbia. The latest State to introduce its own Lottery was Arkansas in the 2008 Election. There is no US National Lottery. There is the widest range of large and attractive prizes, rollovers and gimmicks to give the American ( and international) consumer many extra incentives to have a gamble. Two large jackpots were created from 1996 called Mega Millions and Powerball which are now run in most of the State lotteries in co-operation with other States. Also individual lotteries often feature a 3- 4- or 5- digit numbers game to increase options, thereby increasing revenue. Most States use the profits from Lottery money to fund public education projects, and any shortfalls.
read more